Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Have been craving white sauce the past couple of days, even though I’m fully aware of the increasing size of my waist line. However, I never was, & don’t think I’ll ever be the one who would cut off my earthly pleasures (& I mean good food & drinking here) just to maintain my weight. Instead, I’d simply hit the gym more often, or even take a daily walk around town!

So I was looking for some recipes online while I was still at the dorms. Theme: white, liquid, milky, cheesy, yummy sauce… Until I came back home the other day to find that my mom has baked, I repeat, baked me some steamed vegetables (I love everything baked), with Bechamel sauce! Felt like HEAVEN!

Ingredients & Method:

Preheat the oven to around 200 degrees C.

The vegetables, half boiled or steamed: 2 carrots, cut in thick slices. Half bunches of Broccoli and Cauliflower, cut in large florets. 2 courgettes, cut in thick rounds. 4-5 asparagus spears, cut in thick slices. 1 large potato, cut in cubes. A handful of sweet peas and beans. Some baby corn.

The sauce: 3 tbsp butter & 3 tbsp flour (should be of equal quantities according to mom). 1 chopped garlic. 1/2 cup powdered milk. 4 cups water. Boil all together, until well mixed & thick. Add 1 tbsp white pepper and a sprinkle of Nutmeg.

Put the vegetables in a Pyrex baking dish, previously covered with unsalted butter. Then add the sauce on top of the vegetables; it should slightly cover them. Add around 65g of grated Gruyère cheese on top. Bake for around 15 min., until vegetables are soft & the top is golden brown.